Short bit number 1. On facebook and images

Hi guys!

Welcome to the series of short bits I’m going to be starting here. These are posts that are really just short rants that are too long for twitter or facebook. Nobody wants to go through all that.

Time to put one of my annoyances out on the internet for the world to see, because I’m just smart like that. Here goes.

Image may contain: Text

What? Really?
So here’s the deal. Facebook, the big social media platform and company that everybody loves to hate, developed automatic alt text to help us visually impaired people to recognize what an image might contain.

This is a good thing, right?

Well, yes. Ultimately, this is a brilliant step on Facebook’s part. Making the platform more accessible and inclusive? We can’t really complain, right?
Wrong. See, the one thing Facebook didn’t do is provide something trivial. If they’re developing this big image recognition AI, and its rolled out across all of their platforms now, if they can do this, then why can’t they do one very simple thing?

Provide an OCR engine for text

Really. That’s all I want. I don’t want to have to switch to my computer, find the image I was so interested in reading, OCR it, and…
Get back garbled text because screen reader OCR engines aren’t cutting it. Because at this point, I may as well have stayed in bed and slept for another hour.

If you liked this, you can find more of my rants over on my twitter page. And if you really like this, feel free to give me a follow and leave a comment!

Leave a Reply

